Skip to main content

FDTC Honors Its Own at College Awards Ceremony

FLORENCE, S.C. (February 11, 2019) - Florence-Darlington Technical College (FDTC) honored its top faculty and staff members Thursday night, February 7, 2019 at the Southeastern Institute of Manufacturing and Technology (SiMT). 

The highlight of the annual College Awards was the honoring of FDTC’s first ever Faculty Emeritus of Philosophy and Ethics. FDTC’s Faculty Senate voted the award to recently retired instructor, Andrew Kampiziones. The well-known Florentine taught Philosophy and Ethics at FDTC and is still a part-time faculty member.

“Of course, the honor, by extension, goes to all my colleagues,” Kampiziones said. “Thanks to the Faculty Senate for deeming me worthy of such a high honor.”

FDTC leaders also paid tribute to its Outstanding Employees of the Year. The three categories were administrator, faculty member and staff member. Outstanding Administrator of the Year was Jeronell Bradley. She’s Director of the Wellman INC. Library at FDTC.  Instructor of Physics, Joshua Phiri was the Outstanding Faculty Member of the Year; and Registration Coordinator, Turkesha Green, with the Registrar’s Office, was the Outstanding Staff Member of the Year. 

The three winners were nominated and chosen by their peers. They will compete for statewide honors at the South Carolina Technical Education Association’s conference. Runner-ups were also honored during the event. They were Emery DeWitt for administrator, Leroy D. Gibson, Jr. for staff member and Bob Indrihovic for faculty member. 

Recently retired FDTC staff members and faculty were also honored and employees with 10, 20 and 30 years of service were recognized as well.


2019 Service Award Recipients


10 Years


Ms. Judith Allyson Carmichael  |  Faculty Business


Mr. Terry Dingle  |  AVP Human Resources


Mr. Candy Dean Fowler  |  Mgr. Property/Inv.


Michael W. Gaines, Jr.  |  Database Mgr.


Dr. Laura Hope  |  Faculty Nursing


Ms. Sheryl S. Howle  |  Faculty Math


Mr. Ismael Perez  |  Faculty English


Mr. Mark Rooze  |  Faculty English


20 Years


Ms. Brantlee Haire  |  Faculty Human Services


Mr. Shawn Reed  |  Faculty Mach.Tool Tech


Ms. Monica Starr  |  Director Financial Aid


Ms. Patricia Velicky  |  Faculty Math


30 Years


Ms. Lisa Michelle Hatchell  |  Admissions Specialist

Full User Details